Posted by: bodsquad | December 3, 2008

One Dr. Pepper a Week

drpepper

That’s all I’m allowing myself.

Now, I LOVE me some Dr. Pepper and would drink one or more every day if drinking soda wasn’t so bad for you! It’s no fun to drink empty calories or a can full of sugar, no matter how good it tastes going down!

When I was pregnant with my first child, I allowed myself one Dr. Pepper a month (I was a little on the wacky side), but with my other pregnancies I drank more than I should have. Since deciding about a month ago that I would only have one DP a week, I have literally only had one DP a week. I decided I would like to be in the best shape I can be for whatever life throws at me, so I am standing firm.

And somewhere along the way I haven’t really missed drinking more than one DP. And now I really don’t even finish a full cup or can when I do drink my one, so I don’t think it will be long until I’m just drinking one occasionally or hardly at all.

I am noticing a shift in my thinking since starting this blog adventure. I am making better food and drink choices (definitely drinking more water). Now I just need this thinking to help me get motivated to work out…truly my weakest area.

Anybody else have a soda/pop weakness? If so, what kind and how much do you drink?

Lisa LISA

Responses

  1. I am a hardcore Mountain Dew addict and have been as long as I can remember. In high school I drank several a day (who’s idea was it to put soda machines in SCHOOLS?). But anyway, now I have between 3-4 a week.

    I have given up MD for Lent on more than one occasion and I’ve never lost a pound from doing that. No MD for 40 days and not a pound lost… *sigh* but I know there are more reasons than just the weight for not drinking soda. It’s the sugar and total lack of nutrition, not to mention the damage to my teeth!

    Major kudos to you, Lisa! You are my soda addiction inspiration 🙂 Maybe someday soon I’ll be down to one a week!

  2. Ahhhh. Mountain Dew. My nemesis. I would love to have an IV drip of it 24 hours a day. I have to quit drinking it entirely for a while. Even if I say I’m only going to have one a week or whatever, I get really antsy and need some more the next day and the next. I have no will power when it comes to that. So I’m just not having it until at some point when I have will power!

  3. I’m such an all-or-nothing person that I had to go “cold turkey” when I gave up soda. And I was only about a once a week drinker then! On occasion, I’ll have a diet cherry limeade from Sonic…..yum!

    Sounds like you are making great changes! Keep it up.

  4. Good job Lisa, I’m proud of you for the choices you made at lunch today – you’re doing great! If you want motivation to work out, you are welcome to team up with me anytime – I’m always up for a walk around the block or a bike ride. I’m just a phone call away!


Leave a Reply

Categories

